Placerita Canyon has a Rich History
Placerita Canyon Natural Area has a rich history of human activity. The Tataviam people used the acorns gathered from the oak trees as a staple in their diet. The Portola Expedition entered the Santa Clarita Valley in 1769 and ushered in the mission era. In 1842 gold was discovered near the Oak of the Golden Dream by Francisco Lopez. This was followed by cattle ranching, oil production, and Hollywood movie production.
The Walker Family owned the property from the early 1900’s to 1950, when it was sold to the State of California for a park. The Walker’s preserved the land in its natural state and passed along this enduring legacy for future generations to enjoy. The historic Walker cabin has been restored and is available for tours during the Saturday family nature hikes.
The nature center building was constructed in 1971 and completely remodeled in 2008-2009. The innovative renovation was done to LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) standards and is the first of its kind in the County Parks system.
Placerita Canyon is home to the Oak of the Golden Dream